2018 Elections

Seeking Candidates for Board of Directors,
Gauging Interest for Task Force Co-Chairs and Committee Members
Term: July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2020

January 2018 WGR Board retreat

In 2017 WGR leaders enjoyed all the benefits such as:

  • Access to additional events and trainings including: our Professional Secrets series and intimate Power Dinners with high level women in government relations;
  • FREE trainings with WGR Career Coach Anne Collier;
  • Complimentary attendance at board/task force events;
  • Opportunities to speak on panels and to grow their exposure;
  • Complimentary attendance at industry partner events and receptions;
  • Utilizing talents beyond their current job requirements through introductions, moderating panels, developing programs, fundraising and designing and implementing events that broaden perspectives on issues beyond their comfort zones;
  • Developing their leadership skills through planning and leading meetings, developing budgets, working with speakers, and delegating work to volunteers;
  • Giving back;

Ö and of course they received some cool WGR swag too!

WGR is seeking qualified candidates for the following positions:

  • Officer Positions Ė All officer positions including President, President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer are open at this time and come available every two years. Click here to learn about officer guidelines and responsibilities. Candidates must have held elective office OR served as a WGR chair, and actively participated in WGR for two years.
    • Note: In 2017 the Board of Directors approved a bylaw change for WGR that slightly changed the structure of WGRís Executive Committee. The position of Vice President has been eliminated and replaced with a President-Elect position in 2018 which allows for succession planning and natural progression within leadership, and better prepare the incoming president for her term.
  • Directors- There are five director positions open at this time. The other five will become available next year. Click here to learn about director guidelines and responsibilities. Candidates must have actively participated in WGR for two years.

Task Force and Committee Interest

While not elected positions, WGR takes advantage of the election season to recruit for additional leadership positions, so that we can gauge interest, and make appointments as they become available.

  • Task Force Co-Chairs - Click here for a list of Task Force descriptions and here for a list of guidelines and responsibilities.
  • Committee Members - Click here for a list of Committee descriptions and here for a list of guidelines and responsibilities. 

The Process:

  • If you are interested in running for the Board of Directors submit the Candidate Declaration Form no later than 12:00 pm on Monday, March 5.
  • If you are interested in becoming a Task Force Co-Chair or committee member fill out the Leadership Interest Form no later than 12:00 pm on Monday, March 5.

Important Dates for Board of Directors Election:

February 26    Future Leadership Lunch: Elections Interest Networking Event
March 5          Candidate Declaration Forms Due by 12pm
March 19        Candidate Templates Due for Election Gazette
March 26        Election Gazette/Ballot emailed to membership
April 2             Meet the Candidates Happy Hour
April 16           Ballots Due
May 22            Spring Reception - Leadership formally announced
June 15-16     Board Retreat
July 1             Term Begins

View the Election Campaign Guidelines.

All WGR members in good standing are encouraged to run.  Serving in the leadership of WGR is extremely rewarding and affords you the opportunity to enhance your leadership skills and raise your organizationís visibility among the entire government relations community. 

2018 Elections Committee:
Meredith Shue, Immediate Past President & Elections Chair
Kate Belinski
Lucy Gettman
Charla Penn
Laura Vogel