News & Press: Announcements

WGR is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2020 Excellence in Advocacy Awards

Monday, August 17, 2020   (0 Comments)

Twenty-nine peer judges from our industry were selected to narrow down the list to just three finalists in each category. The next phase in the awards is the public endorsement period wherein nominees and nominators create buzz around their nomination to raise the visibility of their cause, organization or industry. The final round of judging will be conducted by the leadership of the esteemed Bryce Harlow Foundation who will select one awardee for each category.

We hope you will join us virtually on November 10th for the Excellence in Advocacy Awards to celebrate these amazing women and the work that they do. There is not cost to attend but registration is required. The EIA Awards will take place in conjunction with the Professional Women in Advocacy Conference.

Advocate of the Year

  • Na'ilah Amaru, Advocacy & Policy Strategist, self-employed
  • Lesli Gooch, CEO, Manufactured Housing Institute
  • Kathryn Schubert*, Chief Advocacy Officer, Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Up & Coming Practitioner

  • Kayla Gardner*, Senior Manager of Government Affairs, Wireless Infrastructure Association
  • Radha Mohan, Policy Advisor and Associate, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
  • Victoria Palacio, State Advocacy Coordinator, Legal Action Center

Federal Issue Campaign

  • The team of Emily Bryan* and Annette McDermott from Cooley Public Strategies
  • Sarah Meek*, Senior Director of Legislative Affairs, ANCOR 
  • Jeanne Slade*, Director, National Emergency Medicine Political Action Committee and Grassroots Advocacy

State Issue Campaign

  • Kate O'Malley, Founder and CEO, K.O. Strategies
  • Erin Rice, Owner/Principal Consultant, Rice Strategies, LLC.
  • Kristine Telford, Senior Director, Public Affairs, Edison Electric Institute

Campaign for Women Serving Women

  • Na'ilah Amaru, Advocacy and Policy Strategist, self-employed
  • Iris Wilbur Glick, Vice President, Public Policy and Government Affairs, Greater Louisville Inc., The Metro Chamber of Commerce
  • Sharon Jackson, Director, Women2Women

Controversial Issue

  • Roberta "Toni" Meyers Douglas, Director of State Strategy and Reentry, Legal Action Center

 *WGR Members

Thank you to our peer judges
Anna Davis, Zoe Cadore, Allison Dembeck, Kedren Dillard, Caitlin Eannello, Kelly Ferguson, Kristyn Greco-Seyfi, Laura Hall, Kristin Hellquist, Rachel Hicks, Jillian Irvin, Jamie Jones Miller, Maria Matthews, Amanda Miller, Kyra Miller, Dianne Morad, Haley Nicholson, Alyssa Niemiec, Victoria Ostermann, Prianka Sharma, Amy Showalter, Angela Shuman, Tamra Spielvogel, Charlyn Stanberry, Stephanie Vance, Laura Vogel, Dorian Wanzer, Jaime Werner, Yvette Williams